The First Post

I first learned about occupational therapy as a young teenager, needing some help managing stress and other issues. My first appointment was the highlight of my week; there were crash pads, hammocks, fidgets, etc. I didn’t think playing games and using toys would help me… But it did.

I learned techniques, I had fun, and I managed a lot better in my day to day life. I only recently thought of occupational therapy as a career choice for myself. I originally was thinking of becoming a registered psychologist, only to find out it takes at least 13 years of schooling. I don’t want to be in my 30s just starting a career. So I searched the web looking for jobs that help kids. I came across occupational therapy, and remembered that I was personally helped by it.

Although I have a full on plan for school and a career, I am still in high school. It’s probably the coolest school in all of Canada. We focus on inquiries. I’m experimenting with sensory play to build this website to develop my research. This being my official first post, I’m still getting the hang of this. Bare with me, I’ll get better as the days pass.

Leave a Reply

